Log In   |   Sign Up

Advertisement

House of Torment Austin Reviews

 
« Back To Profile Leave A Review »
  • 2632 Ridgepoint Drive
  • Austin, TX
  • 512-407-9449
Details
Average Review
Review Me
Scare Factor
Very Scary
Appropriate For
Children 12 and over
Organization Type
Commercial / For Profit
Listing Categories
Haunted Houses
Review This Haunt
  • Hard to beat

    This one is hard to beat. Be prepared to meet monsters that lurk in the dark they are horrifying. I was scared to death a couple of times and was so busy running to find my way out. On the hurry burry a zombie came face to face and I almost got petrified. It was utmost frightening but extremely thrilling.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted May 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Absolutely loved

    It was my first time here and I absolutely loved it. I am thoroughly impressed with the actors and the themes going on with each house. The best one was the clown house. The possession room virtually freaked me out. The crocodile, though out of place a bit, looked cool. I would certainly love to come again.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Freaked us out

    I and wife drove for two hours to reach here. It indeed tormented us from start to finish. The creepy looking figures of the penitentiary virtually freaked us out. The set design in darkest dreams was creepy to the core.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Wonderful time

    Had a wonderful time with friends. Those looking for a haunt with new and intense scares should check this place out. Actors’ performance was impressive throughout. Their makeup was perfect, so were the roles they played. The rooms all had different themes and creepy interiors. Scares came at regular intervals, often startling me off my feet. The timing and execution was fantastic. The darkest dreams was my favourite. The drive and the wait was worth it. Check it out if you’re in town.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Our favorite Halloween destination

    We never miss out this one as it’s our favorite Halloween destination. This is our second visit and it was fantastic as always. Hollywood-quality sets and skilled actors made out night out absolute blast. Line was pretty long but don’t worry there will be monsters to entertain and scare all the way long and you will never feel the wait.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Unbelievable!!

    Unbelievable and totally worthy. It is one of the must visit attractions in Austin. I visited with my friends and we had the team of 7 and our choice was excellent. We had an amazing night full of screams and laughter. The actors were engaging as well as scary and they always make sure none in the team has escaped from getting monster attacks and scare jumps.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Frightening experience

    Frightening experience. The clown house was pretty intense. Never thought clowns, known to me as comic characters, could scare someone like they did. 5 Stars.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted September 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Hard to beat

    This one is hard to beat. Be prepared to meet monsters that lurk in the dark they are horrifying. I was scared to death a couple of times and was so busy running to find my way out. On the hurry burry a zombie came face to face and I almost got petrified. It was utmost frightening but extremely thrilling.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted May 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Absolutely loved

    It was my first time here and I absolutely loved it. I am thoroughly impressed with the actors and the themes going on with each house. The best one was the clown house. The possession room virtually freaked me out. The crocodile, though out of place a bit, looked cool. I would certainly love to come again.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Freaked us out

    I and wife drove for two hours to reach here. It indeed tormented us from start to finish. The creepy looking figures of the penitentiary virtually freaked us out. The set design in darkest dreams was creepy to the core.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Wonderful time

    Had a wonderful time with friends. Those looking for a haunt with new and intense scares should check this place out. Actors’ performance was impressive throughout. Their makeup was perfect, so were the roles they played. The rooms all had different themes and creepy interiors. Scares came at regular intervals, often startling me off my feet. The timing and execution was fantastic. The darkest dreams was my favourite. The drive and the wait was worth it. Check it out if you’re in town.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Our favorite Halloween destination

    We never miss out this one as it’s our favorite Halloween destination. This is our second visit and it was fantastic as always. Hollywood-quality sets and skilled actors made out night out absolute blast. Line was pretty long but don’t worry there will be monsters to entertain and scare all the way long and you will never feel the wait.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Unbelievable!!

    Unbelievable and totally worthy. It is one of the must visit attractions in Austin. I visited with my friends and we had the team of 7 and our choice was excellent. We had an amazing night full of screams and laughter. The actors were engaging as well as scary and they always make sure none in the team has escaped from getting monster attacks and scare jumps.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Frightening experience

    Frightening experience. The clown house was pretty intense. Never thought clowns, known to me as comic characters, could scare someone like they did. 5 Stars.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted September 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Worth every penny

    Had a great time. The set design was creepy at best. Clearly lots of work put into the mechanics, staging and props inside the house. Slanting room had some intense terror moments. Overall, it was an entertaining experience. Amazing and worth every penny.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted September 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Great timing

    Scares were of good quality and intensity. The jump scares and scary faces gave us a tough time. Actors’ performance was excellent across the haunt. Great timing and execution as well. Staff was friendly and helpful. Worth the time and drive.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted September 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Amazing experience

    Amazing experience for such a meager admission fee. Backed by highly skilled actors and special effects, this place scared us a lot. We screamed a lot, my wife never left me till the end. Great show put up by team House of Torment Austin . Highly recommended.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Excellent Choice To Freak Out

    To be honest, I haven’t scared like this in my life. I with my GF went to The House of Torment and we had a great time there. The lines were long.. but few actors roaming outside the house to entertain the visitors waiting in the line killed the boredom. The make-up, set designing and the animatronics were excellent. Clown house had some spooky clowns. Character Mara in The Possession was very frightening. My GF freaked out seeing her. For me, the scariest part of the visit was the Deranged. The maniacal beasts were very scary. The ride through the dark narrow hall ways made me claustrophobic. Jungle room was a different experience altogether. The beer they served outside the house topped up the fun. Prices were reasonable. Can’t wait till next year.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Will not recommend

    Empty rooms… empty pathways…this is House of Torment… actors who were present could be rarely seen as it was really dark… only strobe lights helped us to identify others… we went smashing our faces over the wall… and fumbling to reach out… the actors get really close to scare you which was very lame… will not recommend this to anyone.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Had tremendous fun

    I went to House of Torment Austin with my husband to celebrate our two years of togetherness. We had tremendous fun here. The Possession Graveyard was so well designed and shadowy creatures were keeping us busy. Then we walkthrough BlackThrone District, having dark narrow wooden paths and scary props all around. Actors were so skilled and dressed as live ghosts. Indoor walkthrough also had so many attraction… This Halloween experience is enduring illustrious for both of us.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Horror and fun everywhere

    House of Torment Austin is a star rated haunted house in Texas. Me and my family received VIP passes to the place by one of my cousin… this was a decisive scary fun. Graveside Manor: The Possession, was the best haunted graveyard I have ever visited. Monsters were attacking here and there and made us feel too scary. Spread in huge area the place has multiple themes including the Frenzy Dark Carnival. We enjoyed carnival and dance acts in loud music. It’s amazing place to be!!! Horror and fun everywhere..

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Scares were basic and predictable

    We had a tough time finding parking space… spent 30 minutes driving around to park our car… standing in line without any entertainment was pretty boring to make matters worse they had lines for each house… there were three houses… the scares were very basic and predictable… there were fewer actors and they did is bad job in scaring us.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Not coming back

    No parking… no refunds… it wasn’t worth the long drive… and no scares as well… all of us were Halloween fanatics… but got annoyed at the end of it.. there was nothing to get frightened at all. Barely few actors doing the routine lame things and it was badly timed as we could hear them before they jumped at us… so it was more like a clown act… not coming back.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Just incredible

    If you are looking for vicious adventure… that to histrionic and live… House of Torment Austin is just incredible. This is the only haunted house I have been twice as it adds new attractions every now and then to have attractive scary fun. Spread in huge area, bright themes, stylish actors and props redefine this every time. I had so much fun at thrilling Black throne district, popularly known as the Deranged.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Freak you out

    It was my kid’s pick – to visit House of Torment Austin this year. The mechanics, staging and props were tactically arranged.. compared to last time, they had introduced a lot of new animatronics too… The house design was also pretty detailed. The makeup and costumes of some of the actors could freak you out.. my eldest son who is usually hard to scare screamed in different corners of the house. I will recommend this haunt.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Impressed

    Torment of Austin was different. In the terms of sets, props and visuals, the house beats all the other haunted houses we have been to in the last year. We visited the three houses in one hour. My favourite house was the “Frenzy Dark Carnival”. I was very impressed by the facilities arranged there for the customers. Staff was polite and cooperative. Ticket is cheap. Kids also will find this haunt enjoyable.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Very spooky

    This was our third visit to House of Torment Austin. Each time, they had something new to scare you. In fact, the haunted house has changed a lot … My favourite part was the icon actors. The music played there was loud and enjoyable. The actors there scared us a lot. The scenes, costuming and make ups were amazing to say the least… the one that terrified us the most was the Frenzy Dark Carnival. The scenes there were very spooky. The De Ranged was also quite frightening. Overall, a well-designed haunted house with some bone-chilling scares. Scare lovers should check this one out.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Predictable

    Too expensive to be doing the same thin over and over. Not to mention your in line for hours to go through a house that takes 10 min.

    Posted October 2014

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    4 out of 6 found this review helpful

  • Just so-so

    This particular haunted house is very expensive and even more so if you choose to get the express tickets. Otherwise, you will be waiting in line for hours. The house itself is not that scary and takes about 10 minutes to go through. I have been to much better haunted houses in smaller times for half the price. If you live in the Austin area and have money to blow, then this is not a bad experience. However, I encourage you to find other venues, especially if you are a Halloween fan.

    Posted October 2013

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    4 out of 4 found this review helpful

  • Pricey

    It is expensive, but there are a lot of props, so it is understandable. Lots of flashing lights and loud noises, par for any decent haunted house. I think there was a bit too much of the actors jumping in your face and being loud, which kind of prevented me from really being able to enjoy it and see all of the designs that so much time and money went into setting up. Plus, it may have been just my luck, but for me it seemed like the actors chose the places to jump toward me where there was a possibility for me to injure myself. (ex - right when I was walking by a chair whose leg was awkwardly jutting out for me to bump/trip over, a place where there was a trough and the floor stepped down, a perfect place to twist an ankle or something) This happened several times throughout the first house so I felt like it could have been intentional. The first house is the best, I wish I would have been able to slow down in it because the 2nd and 3rd features (yes, there are 3) were not nearly as good. The second had fewer actors, which was good. They should reverse the order. Although the rules say you can't touch the actors, they get so close to you (sometimes actually touching you) that it makes for a very uncomfortable element, especially if you have personal space issues. Perfect for a "scare" but I am a bit older and would have liked to enjoy the visual stuff more than just getting jumped at for a cheap surprise scare. I mean, you can do that without any costume on even, why waste all of the money on the scenes? And most of the actor costumes/make-up jobs were awesome!!!!

    Posted October 2013

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    6 out of 7 found this review helpful

Review This Attraction

  • Click to rate
  • Do not use all capital letters. No profanity.
  • Be specific - the more details the better. No HTML.
  • Administrative use only. Will NOT be displayed
  • Click to rate
  • Click to rate
  • Click to rate
  • I have more to say about this haunt (optional)
  • Would you recommended to a friend?
  • Suitable for families with kids?